Skill Up

Maxilla Walk Studios
2022

Address:
4 Maxilla Walk, London W10 6NQ

Skill Up is a year-long programme of eight specialist skills courses each taught over six sessions, delivered from our Maxilla Men’s Shed, with the purpose of skilling up the users of the Shed and the wider North Kensington community.

Upholstery (wine crate to ottoman), with Carla Costa

Dates: Monday 25 April, Tuesday 26 April and Wednesday 27 April
Times: 10am–1pm and 2–5pm

Attendees will learn how to upcycle a wooden wine box into an upholstered and lined storage box with a lid, using modern upholstery materials and techniques. View Carla’s website here.

More info here.

 

Woodworking, with James Torble

Dates: Tuesday 10 May, Wednesday 11 May, Tuesday 17 May, Wednesday 18 May, Tuesday 24 May, Wednesday 25 May
Times: 10am–1pm

Attendees will work with hardwoods, learn about round mortise and tenon joints and build their own three-legged stool. View James’ website here.

More info here.

 

Silverwork and Wax Carving, with Chloe Morgan

Dates: Tuesday 7 June, Wednesday 8 June, Tuesday 14 June, Wednesday 15 June, Tuesday 21 June, Wednesday 22 June *Dates TBC
Times: 10am–1pm.

Attendees will learn how to wax carve, cast in silver, and work directly with silver to create rings, pendants, key-rings, and other objects. View Chloe’s Instagram profile here.

More info here.

 

Woodcarving (mirror making with ornate carving), with Jim Patrick

Dates: Tuesday 5 July, Wednesday 6 July, Tuesday 12 July, Wednesday 13 July, Tuesday 19 July, Wednesday 20 July
Times: 10am–1pm

Attendees will design and carve their own wall-mounted mirror frame by learning simple chip carving techniques. View Jim’s websites here and here.

More info here.

 

Printmaking (bespoke wooden blocks and found objects), with Michael Ward

Dates: Tuesday 2 August, Wednesday 3 August, Tuesday 9 August, Wednesday 10 August, Tuesday 16 August, Wednesday 17 August
Times: 10am–1pm

Participants will produce creatively sophisticated prints using simple and direct handmade methods. Learn about woodcutting, engraving, lino cutting and the collagraph technique, which involves hand collaging a textured surface from which to print. We’ll create several blocks/plates and print them in various permutations of order and colourways. View Michael’s Instagram profile here.

 

Weaving, with Sara Kelly

Dates: Tuesday 6 September, Wednesday 7 September, Tuesday 13 September, Wednesday 14 September, Tuesday 20 September, Wednesday 21 September
Times: 10am–1pm

Learn the fundamentals of weaving on a Backstrap loom and the creative possibilities of weaving. The course will cover setting up a Backstrap loom, measuring a warp, warping the loom, designing a tapestry, weaving, and finishing techniques. View Sara’s website here.

 

Spoon Carving, with Stephen Stockbridge

Dates: Tuesday 4 October, Wednesday 5 October, Tuesday 11 October, Wednesday 12 October, Tuesday 18 October, Wednesday 19 October *Dates TBC
Times: 10am–1pm

View Stephen’s website here.

 

Coppersmithing, with Lizzie Hughes

Dates: Tuesday 8 November, Wednesday 9 November, Tuesday 15 November, Wednesday 16 November, Tuesday 22 November, Wednesday 23 November
Times: 10am–1pm

Learn how to hammer sheet copper into shape and join individual pieces using soldering, brazing, and riveting techniques. This course is adapted from a class currently taught at London Sculpture Workshop in ‘sheet copper sculpture’. View Lizzie’s websites here and here.